Rivington School Direct

COURSES OFFERED

English, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Modern Foreign Languages ( French, Spanish, German ),History, Geography, Religious Studies, Drama, Computer Science, Design Technology, Art & Design, Music, Physical Education, Sociology, Business Studies

CONTACT THIS TRAINING PROVIDER

Victoria Walmsley
Tel: 01204-333266
Email: vwalmsley@rbhs.co.uk

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Rivington Lane
Horwich
Bolton
BL6 7RU

What a fantastic first day back at @Rumworth for my enrichment! It was great to see all the amazing staff and children again and it makes me even more excited to be starting there in September! 💖💖

Load More...

About Us

Rivington School Direct is a very eclectic Alliance of 12 secondary schools. Including four 11 – 18 schools, 3 faith schools and a ‘21st century school’ where all the students use i-pads. Last year we recruited 42 trainees from an allocation of 50 and to date have recruited 53 trainees for 2016/17 with a target of 55. We have been recruiting throughout the summer.

In the first 2 years of School Direct we recruited 14 trainees in each year across 8 subjects. We have made a significant increase now offering 17 subjects. We aim to make further increases for 2017/18.

We also have new partners Rumworth Special School and Bolton St Catherine’s Academy.

Based on the assurances on trainee numbers from our partners we feel we have the capacity and ability to recruit at least 64 trainees.

We have a very quick and efficient turnaround of interviewing and offering places to candidates which they seem to really appreciate. We offer them a certain element of choice in their placements after they have been on organised visits to some of the Alliance schools. They are then invited into their placement schools before the end of term. We have had very positive feedback from all our trainees about how they view their training in our Alliance and we have a very good record on them gaining employment.

Trainees will complete their placements in two of the appropriate partnership schools for their subject and have their own personal tutor/mentor.

They will have opportunities to experience professional development in a wide variety of alternative school settings (Special Schools and Sixth Form).

Also have the opportunity to follow a nationally accredited leadership course and gain a PGCE with Masters Accreditation through Manchester Metropolitan University.

Alliance Professional Mentors

Bolton St. Catherine’s Academy
– Emily Schofield
eschofield@boltonstcatherinesacademy.org.uk

Essa Academy
– Lynn Cardwell
cardwelll@essaacademy.org

Harper Green School
– Elizabeth Rothwell
rothwelle@harpergreen.net

Ladybridge High School
– Leanne McKeon
lmckeon@ladybridgehigh.co.uk

Mount St Joseph Business and Enterprise College
– Heather Dean
deanh@msj.bolton.sch.uk

Rivington & Blackrod High School
– Martin Keene
mkeene@rbhs.co.uk

Rumworth School
– Gina Burrows
gburrows@rumworth.bolton.sch.uk

Sharples School
– Ann Webster
awebster@sharplesschool.co.uk

St Joseph’s RC High School
– Angela Halliday
ahalliday270@st-josephs.bolton.sch.uk

Thornleigh Salesian College
– Helen Grundy
hgrundy@thornleigh.bolton.sch.uk

Turton School
– Jo Parr
parrj@turton.uk.com

Westhoughton High School
– Carol Holmes
cholmes456@westhoughton-high.bolton.sch.uk

Partner Schools

Bolton St. Catherine’s Academy
www.boltonstcatherinesacademy.org.uk

Essa Academy
www.essaacademy.org

Harper Green School
www.harper-green.bolton.sch.uk

Ladybridge High School
www.ladybridgehigh.co.uk

Mount St Joseph Business and Enterprise College
www.msj.bolton.sch.uk

Rivington & Blackrod High School
www.rbhs.co.uk

Rumworth School
www.rumworth.bolton.sch.uk

Sharples School
www.sharplesschool.co.uk

St Joseph’s RC High School
www.sjhs.org.uk

Thornleigh Salesian College
www.thornleigh.bolton.sch.uk

Turton School
www.turton.uk.com

Westhoughton High School
www.westhoughton-high.org